كلمة السفيرة الأميركية دوروثي ك. شيا من قصر بعبدا

يوم الخميس في الخامس والعشرين من شهر آذار الجاري، التقت السفيرة دوروثي شيا بالرئيس ميشال عون في قصر بعبدا، ومع رئيس الوزراء المكلف سعد الحريري في بيت الوسط.  وقد القت الكلمة التالية من قصر بعبدا. 

صباح الخير. أود أن أبدأ بشكر فخامة الرئيس عون على استقباله لي صباح اليوم هنا في قصر بعبدا.  لقد ناقشنا خلال اجتماعنا اليوم، الأهمية – لا بل الحاجة الملحة – الى تشكيل حكومة ملتزمة بالإصلاحات وقادرة على تنفيذها لقد اعادت الولايات المتحدة باستمرار التأكيد على التزامها الوقوف إلى جانب الشعب اللبناني ودعمه. 

والآن، هناك حاجة إلى قادة شجعان، لديهم الاستعداد لوضع خلافاتهم الحزبية جانباً والعمل معاً لإنقاذ البلاد من الأزمات المتعددة والجروح التي احدثتها بنفسها والتي تواجهها. 

إنني على ثقة بأنه بإمكانكم القيام بذلك. 

لقد تحدثت الليلة الماضية فقط مع عدد من الناشطين السياسيين الشباب من مختلف الأطياف وكان من الواضح أنهم يريدون حكومة تتحمل مسؤولية بلدهم ويريدون قضاء مستقلا وسيادة القانونإنهم يريدون اجتثاث الفساد المستشري الذي يسلب البلد وشعبه من الموارد الثمينة التي يحتاجها بشدة. كما قالوا إنهم يريدون أن تجرى الانتخابات المقرر إجراؤها في العام المقبل في موعدها. 

ولكن دعونا نركّز على  ما يحدث هنا الآن. إنني اعلم ان قادتكم يحاولون تشكيل حكومة. وبكل احترام، أود أن أقول لأي شخص يضع شروطا لتأليف هذه الحكومة التي هي حاجة ماسة لشعبكم، إذا كانت تلك الشروط قد أدت إلى عرقلة تشكيل الحكومة، أود أن أسأل: الآن بعد مرور ثمانية أشهر تقريبا من دون حكومة بسلطات كاملة، الم يحن الوقت للتخلي عن تلك الشروط والبدء بالتسوية؟ 

إنه لمن المهم التركيز على تأليف الحكومة، وليس عرقلتها. شكرًا لكم. 

##

Ambassador Dorothy C. Shea Remarks at Baabda Palace

On Thursday, March 25, Ambassador Dorothy Shea met with President Michel Aoun at Baabda Palace, and with Prime Minister-Designate Saad Hariri at Center House.  The following remarks were delivered from Baabda Palace.    

## 

As delivered 

Begin Text 

Sabah el-kheir.  I would like to begin by thanking his Excellency President Aoun for receiving me here this morning at Baabda Palace.  Today, during our meeting, we discussed the importance of –and indeed the urgency of—forming a government that is committed to and able to implement reforms.  The United States has continuously reiterated its commitment to stand by and support the people of Lebanon.  

Right now, there is a need for courageous leaders, who are ready to put aside their partisan differences and work together to rescue the country from the multiple crises and self-inflected wounds it is facing. 

I am confident that you can do this.    

Just last night I spoke with a number of young political activists from across the spectrum and it was clear that they want a government that takes responsibility for their country.  They want judicial independence.  They want the rule of law.  They want to root out endemic corruption that robs the country and its people of precious resources it so desperately needs.  And, they also said they wanted to see the elections that are scheduled  next year to take place on time.  

But let’s focus on the here and now.  I know your government, your leaders are trying to form a government.  And I would just say, respectfully, for anyone who has been placing demands on forming this government that your people so desperately need, and if those demands have resulted in blocking that government formation, I would ask: now that we are almost eight months without a fully-empowered government, isn’t now the time to let go of those demands?  To begin compromising?  

It’s important to focus on building a government, not blocking a government.  Thank you. 

End Text