تصريح وكيل وزارة الخارجية الاميركية للشؤون السياسية ديفيد هيل من قصر بعبدا

صباح الخير ورمضان كريم. لقد أتيت إلى لبنان بناءً على طلب الوزير بلينكن للتأكيد على التزام إدارة بايدن المستمر تجاه الشعب اللبناني ورغبتنا المشتركة في الاستقرار والازدهار في لبنان.

على مدى الأيام الثلاثة الماضية، التقيت العديد من القادة اللبنانيين لمناقشة الأزمة السياسية التي طال أمدها وتدهور الأوضاع الاقتصادية.

الشعب اللبناني يعاني. إنه يعاني لأن القادة اللبنانيين فشلوا في الاضطلاع بمسؤوليتهم في وضع مصلحة البلد في المقام الأول ومعالجة المشاكل الاجتماعية والاقتصادية المتصاعدة. فالناس فقدوا جنى عمرهم، ولم يعد بإمكانهم الوصول إلى الرعاية الصحية الأساسية، وهم يكافحون من أجل إطعام أسرهم.

كنت قد زرت لبنان في كانون الأول من العام 2019 ومرة أخرى في آب 2020. وسمعت حينها دعوة للتغيير، لا لبس فيها، من قبل لبنانيين من جميع الخلفيات. هذه المطالب هي عالمية: كالشفافية، والمساءلة، ووضع حدّ للفساد المستشري، وسوء الإدارة الذي تسبب في مثل هذه الصعوبات. لو تمت تلبية هذه المطالب، لكان لبنان اليوم على طريق تحقيق إمكاناته الهائلة. ومع ذلك، لم يُحرز حتى الآن سوى تقدّم ضئيل للغاية. الأوان لم يفت بعد.

لطالما طالبنا قادة لبنان بإبداء مرونة كافية وتشكيل حكومة مستعدّة، وقادرة على العمل على عكس مسار الانهيار الجاري. لقد حان الوقت الآن لتشكيل حكومة وليس عرقلة قيامها، الآن هو وقت الإصلاح الشامل. فأميركا والمجتمع الدولي هم على استعداد للمساعدة. لكن لا يمكن المساعدة دون الشريك اللبناني.

وأولئك الذين يواصلون عرقلة تقدّم أجندة الإصلاح، يغامرون بعلاقتهم مع الولايات المتحدة وشركائها ويعرّضون أنفسهم للإجراءات العقابية. أما الذين يعملون على تسهيل التقدّم، فيمكنهم الاطمئنان لدعمنا القوي.

إن تكديس حزب الله للأسلحة الخطرة والتهريب والأنشطة غير المشروعة والفاسدة الأخرى يقوّض مؤسسات الدولة الشرعية. إنه يسلب من اللبنانيين القدرة على بناء بلد مسالم ومزدهر. وإيران هي التي تغذّي وتموّل هذا التحدي للدولة وهذا التشويه للحياة السياسية اللبنانية.

هذا يأخذني إلى موضوع تجديد المفاوضات الأميركية حول برنامج إيران النووي. إن العودة المتبادلة إلى الامتثال للاتفاق النووي مع إيران تصبّ في مصلحتنا وفي مصلحة الاستقرار الإقليمي، لكنها لن تكون سوى بداية عملنا. فيما نتطرّق إلى العناصر الأخرى لسلوك إيران المزعزع للاستقرار، لن تتخلى أميركا عن مصالحها وأصدقائها في لبنان.

وأخيرا، أود، كما فعلت اليوم، أن أعيد القول أن أميركا تقف على أهبة الاستعداد لتسهيل المفاوضات بشأن الحدود البحرية بين لبنان وإسرائيل على الأسس التي بدأناها في هذه المباحثات. هذه المفاوضات لديها امكانية فتح الابواب امام فوائد اقتصادية كبيرة للبنان، وهذا أمر بالغ الأهمية على خلفية الأزمة الاقتصادية الحادة التي تواجهها البلاد. ويمكن، عند الاقتضاء، استقدام خبراء دوليين للمساعدة في اطلاعنا جميعا.

شكرا لكم مرة أخرى على وقتكم هذا الصباح.

Under Secretary for Political Affairs David Hale’s Statement at Baabda Palace

Good morning and Ramadan Kareem.  I came to Lebanon at the request of Secretary Blinken to underscore the Biden Administration’s continued commitment to the Lebanese people and our shared desire for stability and prosperity in Lebanon.

Over the past three days, I have met with many Lebanese leaders to discuss the prolonged political gridlock and deteriorating economic conditions here.

The Lebanese people are clearly suffering.  They’re suffering because Lebanese leaders have failed to meet their responsibility to put the country’s interests first and to address the mounting socio-economic problems.  People have lost their life savings, can no longer access basic health care, and struggle to feed their families.

I visited Lebanon in December 2019 and again in August 2020.  I heard then an unmistakable call for change from Lebanese from all backgrounds.  These demands are universal:  for transparency, accountability, and an end to the endemic corruption and mismanagement that have caused such hardship.  If these demands had been met, Lebanon would be on the road to fulfilling its tremendous potential.  Yet today, there has been very little progress.  But it’s not too late.

We have long called for Lebanon’s leaders to show sufficient flexibility to form a government that is willing and capable of reversing the collapse under way.  The time to build a government, not block it, is now.  The time to build a government is now.  The time for comprehensive reform is now.  And America and the international community are ready to help.  But we can’t help, as I said yesterday, without a Lebanese partner.

Those who continue to obstruct progress on the reform agenda jeopardize their relationship with the United States and our partners and open themselves up to punitive actions.  Those who facilitate progress can be assured of our strong support.

Hizballah’s accumulation of dangerous weapons, smuggling, and other illicit and corrupt activities undermine legitimate state institutions.  They rob the Lebanese of the ability to build a peaceful and prosperous country.  And it’s Iran that is fueling and financing this challenge to the state and this distortion of Lebanese political life.

This brings me to America’s renewed negotiations over Iran’s nuclear program.  A mutual return to compliance with the Iran nuclear deal is in our interest and in the interest of regional stability, but it would only be the beginning of our work.  As we address the other elements of Iran’s destabilizing behavior, America will not abandon our interests and our friends here in Lebanon.

Finally, I’d like to reiterate, as I did today, that America stands ready to facilitate negotiations on the maritime boundary between Lebanon and Israel on the basis on which we initiated these discussions.  These negotiations have potential to unlock significant economic benefits for Lebanon.  And this is all the more critical against the backdrop of the severe economic crisis the country is facing.  As needed, international experts can be brought in to help inform all of us.

Thank you again for your time this morning.