تسليم ست طائرات هليكوبتر هجومية من طراز MD-530F+ إلى الجيش اللبناني

Ambassador Dorothy C. Shea at Hamat Airbase today

ألقت السفيرة دوروثي ك. شيا التصريح التالي في قاعدة حمات الجوية اليوم:

صباح الخير، العماد جوزاف عون، اللواء هيكل، الضيوف الكرام. إنه لشرف لي أن أكون معكم هذا الصباح. كما تعلمون، على الأرجح ، فقد غادرت أنا والعماد عون مؤخرًا إلى الولايات المتحدة حيث تمّت استضافتنا في سلسلة من الاجتماعات حول التعاون والتنسيق العسكري الأميركي اللبناني، وأنا فخورة بأن تتاح لي الفرصة لإظهار مدى صحّة هذا الالتزام من خلال تسليمنا، مرة أخرى، معدات رئيسية. انظروا إلى هذه العينة الجميلة.

إذن، نحن نستقبل اليوم تقديم ست طائرات هليكوبتر هجومية خفيفة من طراز MD-530F + للقوات الجوية اللبنانية. لقد أحببت هذا الفيديو الذي شاهدناه معا للتو وأودّ أن أغتنم موضوع عمل الفريق الذي تحدثتم عنه. هذا العمل الجماعي نفسه الذي نراه بين طائرات هليكوبتر MD 530 ، نراه أيضا بين الجيشين اللبناني والأميركي.

منذ العام 2017 ، عملت الفرق العسكرية الأميركية عن كثب مع الجيش اللبناني لضمان أن تلبّي قدرات هذه الطائرات متطلبات المهمات وتعمل على تعزيز القدرات العملانية للجيش اللبناني في توفير الأمن للبنان. اليوم ، نحن لا نقوم فقط بالتدشين الرسمي لهذه المروحيات، والتي تقدر قيمتها بأكثر من 40 مليون دولار، لكننا نستقبل أحدث الإضافات لأسطول طائرات الجيش اللبناني. فهذه المروحية هي أول طائرة هليكوبتر هجومية خفيفة من نوعها تدمج بين صواريخ APKWS وبيانات الاستهداف بشكل مباشر. والأهم من ذلك ، أن هذه التقنية تظهر المستويات المتزايدة للقدرات القتالية لدى الجيش اللبناني.

نحن أيضا نقدّر للطيارين والفنيين في الجيش اللبناني إتمامهم التدريب على هذه الطائرات استعدادًا لنشرها في الميدان. هؤلاء الضباط ينضمّون إلى الكادرات العالية الأداءً في الجيش اللبناني، الذين استفادوا من التدريب والتعليم الذي ترعاه الولايات المتحدة، وهذا جزء مهم من تعاوننا الثنائي. هنيئا على الأداء الذي شهدناه قبل بضع دقائق فقط.

إن تسليم طائرات الهليكوبتر وتخرّج الذين تدربوا يمثلان اليوم الشراكة الدائمة بين لبنان والولايات المتحدة. لقد أعلنت الولايات المتحدة مؤخرًا عن دعم إضافي للتمويل العسكري الأجنبي السنوي بقيمة 67 مليون دولار للعام 2021. هذا بالإضافة إلى 120 مليون دولار التي كنا قد خصصناها للبنان، وبذلك يصل المجموع، لهذا العام، إلى 187 مليون دولار. إننا سنبقى ملتزمين اتباع طرق إضافية تمكننا من مساعدة الجيش اللبناني، وأنا أشمل في ذلك جنود الجيش اللبناني. نحن نعلم أن بلدكم يمرّ بأوقات عصيبة، وشعبكم يمرّ بظروف اقتصادية صعبة للغاية، والعديد منكم يمرّ بها. نحن نعمل بجد للمساعدة في إيجاد حلول لتلك المشاكل، وأودّ أن أشمل أيضًا أصدقائنا وزملائنا في قوى الأمن الداخلي. فنحن ندرك الدور الحيوي الذي يلعبونه في أمن لبنان وحمايته.

شكرا لكم جميعًا على السماح لي بالانضمام إلى حدث اليوم. إنه لفخر لي أن ارى التقدم التكنولوجي والتشغيلي الذي يحققه الجيش اللبناني على الرغم من الصعوبات الاقتصادية المستمرة. إنني أشيد بتفانيكم وعملكم الجاد وأتطلع إلى شراكة مستمرة ومتنامية بين بلدينا لأنكم كما تعلمون، فنحن في هذا معًا. شكرا لكم.”

Six MD-530F+ Attack Helicopters Delivered to the Lebanese Armed Forces

Ambassador Dorothy C. Shea at Hamat Airbase today

Ambassador Dorothy C. Shea delivered the following remarks at Hamat Airbase today:

“Sabah el-Kheir, Good morning, General Joseph Aoun, General Haikal, distinguished guests. What an honor it is to be with you this morning.  As you probably know, General Aoun and I recently traveled to the United States where we were hosted for a series of meetings about U.S. – Lebanese military cooperation and coordination, and I am proud to have the opportunity to demonstrate how real that commitment is with yet another major equipment delivery.  Look at this beautiful specimen.  

So today, we welcome the provision of six MD-530F+ Light Attack Helicopters to the Lebanese Armed Forces (LAF) Air Force.  I loved this video we just watched and I just want to seize on the theme of teamwork that you identified, the same teamwork that we see between these MD 530(s), we see between the LAF and the United States military.  

Since 2017, the U.S. military teams have worked closely with the LAF to ensure the capabilities of these aircrafts would fill mission requirements and enhance the operational capacity of the LAF in providing for Lebanon’s security.  Today, we are not only formally inaugurating these helicopters, valued at over $40 million dollars, but we are welcoming them as the newest additions of the LAF’s air fleet. 

This helicopter is the first light attack helicopter of its kind to integrate APKWS missiles and live downlink of targeting data.  Most importantly, this technology showcases the LAF’s increasing levels of combat capabilities. 

We are also recognizing the LAF pilots and technicians who completed training on these aircraft in preparation for their deployment in the field.  These officers join a cadre of top performing LAF personnel, who have benefitted from U.S.-sponsored training and education, and this is such an important part of our bilateral cooperation.  Bravo for the performance that we got to witness out there just a few minutes ago.  

Today, both the helicopter delivery and training graduation, represent the enduring partnership between Lebanon and the United States. The United States recently announced an additional $67 million in annual Foreign Military Financing support for this year 2021.  This is in addition to the $120 million that we had already set aside for Lebanon bringing the total to $187 million for this year.  We remain committed to pursuing additional ways that we can help the LAF, and I include in that the LAF soldiers.  We know your country is going through difficult times, your people are experiencing very difficult economic circumstances and many of you yourselves are.  We are working aggressively to help find solutions to those problems, and I would include in that also our friends and colleagues in the Internal Security Forces.  We recognize the vital role that you play in securing and protecting Lebanon.   

Thank you all for allowing me to participate in today’s event.  It gives me such pride and really to recognize the technological and operational advancements that the LAF is making even despite the ongoing economic hardships.  We commend your dedication and your hard work and I look forward to a continuous and ever increasing partnership between our two countries because you know it, we are in this together.  Thank you.”