الرئيس عون والسفيرة ريتشارد يزرعان “الشجرة المليون”

انضمت السفيرة الأميركية إليزابيث ريتشارد إلى فخامة رئيس الجمهورية ميشال عون في حديقة القصر الرئاسي لغرس شجرة سنديان تمثل “الشجرة المليون” المزروعة في لبنان كجزء من مبادرة جمعية التحريج في لبنان التابعة للوكالة الأميركية للتنمية الدولية. وقد حضر الاحتفال وزراء، مانحون دوليون، ممثلون عن الجيش اللبناني وبلديات ومنظمات المجتمع المدني.

وفي كلمتها ، أكدت السفيرة ريتشارد على التزام الحكومة الأميركية الطويل الأمد بالحفاظ على البيئة في لبنان. “اليوم، نحن فخورون بالاحتفال بغرس مليون شجرة في لبنان. سنستمر في دعم زراعة عشرات الآلاف خلال السنتين المقبلتين في حين نواصل تحسين إدارة الموارد الطبيعية في ثلاثة مناطق تركيز: الشوف والشمال وراشيا.”

وشارك مستفيدون من البرنامج خبراتهم في العمل عبر مشروع الوكالة الاميركية للتنمية الدولية لإعادة التحريج وأبرزوا تأثيره على المستويات الاقتصادية والبيئية والشخصية. تمثل “الشجرة المليون” علامة بارزة في إتجاه برنامج ال40 مليون شجرة لوزارة الزراعة.

منذ العام 2010، ساعدت الولايات المتحدة لبنان بمبلغ 25 مليون دولار تقريباً لتحريج الغابات وتحسين البيئة. من خلال برنامجها “الغابات لتحسين الحياة” الجديد بقيمة 5 ملايين دولار، ستواصل الوكالة الأميركية للتنمية الدولية دعم إعادة التحريج والإدارة البيئية في لبنان.

منذ العام 2007، قدمت الولايات المتحدة حوالي 5 مليار دولار من المساعدات الإجمالية للبنان، بما في ذلك أكثر من 1.7 مليار دولار من المساعدات العسكرية وأكثر من 3.1 مليار دولار في مجال التنمية والمساعدات الإنسانية.

وفي ما يلي كلمة السفيرة ريتشارد بالمناسبة:

فخامة رئيس الجمهورية، حضرة السيدة الاولى، حضرة الوزراء، حضرة قائد الجيش، الاصدقاء الكرام.

يسرني جدا أن أنضم إليكم اليوم لزرع هذه الشجرة – الشجرة المليون – التي تدلّ على التزام الولايات المتحدة المشترك مع الشعب اللبناني بالحفاظ على تراث هذا البلد. إن حدث اليوم يعكس جانبا فقط من شراكة الولايات المتحدة المستمرة مع لبنان. إنني فخورة جدا بذلك. بالاضافة الى ما نقوم به لدعم الجيش، القطاع الزراعي، والتعليم، الولايات المتحدة هي أكبر مساهم في جهود لبنان لإعادة التحريج.

لسوء الحظ، منذ الاستقلال ، فقد لبنان أكثر من 20% من غطائه الحرجي بسبب الحرائق الهائلة، التحضّر، وسوء التنظيم في الكسارات والمكبات. إن تدهور الغابات لا يؤثر فقط على صحة وجمال محيطنا المادي. إنه يؤثر مباشرة على سبل العيش. فينخفض ​​الإنتاج الزراعي بسبب عدم تمكّن طبقات المياه الجوفية من إعادة ملئها وتآكل التربة. كما أن نوعية الهواء والماء تتدهور مع انخفاض عدد الأشجار. كل هذه العوامل تؤثر على نوعية حياة الجميع.

في العام 2004 ، انضمت الولايات المتحدة إلى لبنان للبدء في مواجهة هذه التحديات من خلال تجنيد مصلحة الغابات الأميركية في حملة على مساحة لبنان لمكافحة حرائق الغابات. في العام 2010 ، أطلقنا مبادرة إعادة تحريج لبنان (LRI) البالغة 19.6 مليون دولار. وقد ساعدت هذه البرامج لبنان على تحقيق أهدافه في إطار برنامج ال40 مليون شجرة لوزارة الزراعة.

إن إدارة البيئة والحفاظ عليها لا تعنيان فقط إنقاذ الأشجار. التزامنا بجهود لبنان في مجال التأهيل البيئي يتضمن أيضًا مساعدة المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء لبنان التي تعتمد على الغابات كسبل عيشها. مع 68 شريك من بلديات ومجتمع محلي وعشرات الشركاء من القطاع الخاص، ومنظمات غير حكومية محلية وناشطين في مجال البيئة، حقق عملنا مدخولاً لأكثر من 1700 عامل موسمي. كما أدى ذلك الى اعتماد وتعزيز تقنيات جديدة للغابات أصبحت الآن نموذجا للقطاع الخاص ومنظمات القطاع العام. إن إطلاق أول غابة وطنية في لبنان في عنجر هو مثال عظيم على ما يمكن أن نحققه عندما نعمل سويا.

التمويل وحده لن يغير بيئة لبنان – فقط الناس يستطيعون فعل ذلك. إن التزام البلديات والمواطنين والمجموعات البيئية فقط هو الذي يستطيع إجراء التغييرات المطلوبة. ويجب أن نستمر جميعا في أن نكون مناصرين قويين لبيئة لبنان على الصعيدين المحلي والوطني.

أود كثيرا أن أحيي تفاني جميع المتطوعين على عملهم لإحياء جمال لبنان الطبيعي، وخاصة في تحريج غابات الأرز في البلد. كما أشيد بجهود عمل LRI المستمر من خلال مشروعنا الجديد “الغابات لتحسين الحياة” الذي تبلغ قيمته 5 ملايين دولار والذي سيكمل مشاريع إدارة الغابات الممولة من قبل بعض الجهات المانحة الاخرى. سنستمر في دعم زراعة عشرات الآلاف من الأشجار الاضافية ونحسّن إدارة الموارد الطبيعية في الشوف والشمال وراشيا.

أودّ أن أتوقف لحظة لأعرب عن خالص شكري للوزارات التي دعمت هذه الجهود لتعزيز التنوع البيئي في لبنان – وزارة الزراعة، ووزارة البيئة، ووزارة الخارجية والمغتربين. وشكر خاص جدا على الدعم العظيم الذي قدمه فخامة الرئيس ومكتبه، وخاصةً السيدة كلودين روكز على التزامها القوي تجاه بيئة لبنان.

إن الشراكة وتمكين المجتمع يمكنهما الحفاظ على غابات لبنان وجذب أعداد متزايدة من السياح لمشاهدة جمال لبنان الطبيعي بأنفسهم. نحن سعداء جدا وفخورون بأن نكون جزءا من هذا الجهد. شكرا جزيلا.

President Aoun and Ambassador Richard Plant the Millionth Tree

President Aoun and Ambassador Richard Plant the Millionth Tree

United States Ambassador Elizabeth Richard joined President Michel Aoun in the Presidential Palace’s garden to plant an oak tree representing the “Millionth Tree” planted in Lebanon as part of USAID’s Lebanon Reforestation Initiative (LRI). The event was attended by ministers, international donors, LAF representatives, and representatives of municipalities, and civil society organizations.

In her remarks, Ambassador Richard emphasized the U.S. government’s long-standing commitment to environmental conservation in Lebanon. “Today, we are proud to celebrate the planting of One Million trees in Lebanon.  We will continue to support the planting of tens of thousands more over the coming two years while continuing to improve natural resource management in three focus areas: the Shouf, the North and Rashaya.”

Beneficiaries shared their experience working with USAID’s reforestation project and highlighted the impact it had on the economic, environmental, and personal levels. The “Millionth Tree” represents a major milestone towards the Ministry of Agriculture’s 40-million Tree Program.

Since 2010, the United States has supported Lebanon with nearly $25 million for forest restoration and environment improvement.  Through its new $5 million “Livelihoods in Forestry” project, USAID will continue to support reforestation and environmental management in Lebanon.

Since 2007, the United States has provided nearly $5 billion in total combined assistance to Lebanon, including more than $1.7 billion in military assistance and more than $3.1 billion in development and humanitarian assistance.

Below are Ambassador Richard’s remarks at the event.

Mr. President, Madam First Lady, dear Ministers, Commander of the Lebanese Armed Forces and dear friends,

I am so pleased to join you today to plant this tree – the one millionth – which signifies the United States’ shared commitment with the Lebanese people to preserving this country’s heritage.  Today’s milestone reflects just one aspect of the United States’ ongoing partnership with Lebanon.   I am very proud of this.  In addition to what we do to support the Army, the agricultural sector, and education, the United States is the largest contributor to Lebanon’s reforestation effort.

Unfortunately, since Independence, Lebanon has lost over 20 percent of its forest cover due to wildfire, urbanization, and poor regulation of quarries and landfills.  The fact is that forest degradation affects not only the health and beauty of our physical surroundings.  It directly affects livelihoods.  Agricultural output falls because aquifers cannot recharge and top soil erodes.  Air and water quality degrades as the number of trees declines.  All of these factors impact everyone’s quality of life.

In 2004, the United States joined with Lebanon to begin to address these challenges by enlisting the U.S. Forest Service in a Lebanon-wide campaign to combat wildfires. In 2010, we launched the $19.6 million dollar Lebanon Reforestation Initiative (LRI).  Together, these programs have helped Lebanon meet its objectives under the Ministry of Agriculture’s “40 Million Tree Program.”

Managing and sustaining the environment is not just about saving trees.  Our commitment to Lebanon’s environmental restoration efforts also involves helping communities across Lebanon who depend on the forests for their livelihoods.  Together with 68 local municipality and community partners and scores of private sector partners, local NGOs, and environmental activists, our work has generated income for over 1,700 seasonal workers.  It has alsoresulted in the adoption and promotion of new forestation techniques that are now a model for private and public sector organizations.  The launch of Lebanon’s first national forestry park in Anjar is a great example of what we can achieve when we work together.

Funding alone is not going to change Lebanon’s environment—only people can do that.  Only the commitment of municipalities, citizens, and environmental groups can make the needed changes.  And we must all continue to be strong advocates for Lebanon’s environment both at the local and national levels.

I would really like to salute the dedication of all the volunteers for their work to revive Lebanon’s natural beauty, especially restoration of the country’s cedar forests.  I applaud the efforts of LRI’s ongoing work with our newest project, a $5 million dollar “Livelihoods in Forestry” project that will complement the forestry management projects of some of the other donors.   We will continue to support the planting of tens of thousands more trees and improve natural resource management in the Shouf, the North, and Rashaya.

I would like to take a moment to extend my sincere thanks to those Ministries who supported these efforts to promote Lebanon’s environmental diversity—the Ministry of Agriculture, the Ministry of the Environment, and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Emigrants. And thank you very especially for the fantastic support of the President of the Republic and his office, and especially to Mrs. Claudine Roukoz for her unyielding commitment to Lebanon’s environment.

Partnership and community empowerment can preserve Lebanon’s forests and draw increasing numbers of tourists to witness Lebanon’s natural beauty for themselves.  We are so very happy and proud to be part of that effort. Thank you very much.