An official website of the United States government

Message for U.S. Citizens: Upcoming Special Elections in Louisiana and Texas
(March 4, 2021)
March 4, 2021

The following states have elections in the next 90 days:

March 20, 2021: Louisiana Special Primary Elections in U.S. Congressional Districts 2* and 5**

May 1, 2021: Texas Special Election in U.S. Congressional District 6***

Service members, eligible family members, and overseas citizens who are registering to vote for the first time can use the automated Federal Post Card Application (FPCA) completion tool available at fvap.gov/FPCA, or use the fillable PDF version (PDF 185 KB). Voters must submit a completed and signed FPCA to their local election office by the state’s voter registration deadline.

Vote your absentee ballot as soon as you get it, and be sure to carefully follow the state’s completion instructions and sign the voted ballot package as indicated when returning it. To save time, you may be able to return your voted ballot electronically if allowed by state law. Check if your state can accept completed absentee ballots by email, fax, or online at fvap.gov/guide.

If you requested your ballot, but haven’t received it in time to return by the ballot deadline, use the Federal Write-In Absentee Ballot (FWAB) as a backup ballot. If your official absentee ballot arrives after sending in the FWAB, you may complete and submit the official ballot too. Only one ballot will be counted per voter.

You can verify the voted ballot is received by contacting your election office for status updates. To find your state’s election website for specific information on candidates, elections, contact information, registration, and links to your local election office, visit  fvap.gov/search-offices.

*Louisiana Congressional District 2 includes all of St. James Parish and portions of the following parishes: Ascension, Assumption, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Jefferson, Orleans, St. Charles, St. John the Baptist and West Baton Rouge.

**Louisiana Congressional District 5 includes all of the following parishes: Avoyelles, Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, East Carroll, Franklin, Grant, Jackson, La Salle, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Rapides, Richland, Tensas, Washington, West Carroll, West Feliciana, and Winn Parishes, and portions of the following parishes: East Feliciana, St. Helena, St. Landry and Tangipahoa.

***Texas Congressional District 6 includes Ellis and Navarro counties and a portion of Tarrant County.

If you have any questions about registering to vote overseas, please contact Embassy Beirut’s Voting Assistance Officer at  VoteBEIRUT@state.gov.