السفيرة دوروثي شيا تشارك في حفل تدشين منشآت تخزين ذخائر للجيش في قاعدة حامات الجوية

في السادس والعشرين من شهر آذار الجاري، شاركت السفيرة دوروثي شيا العميد زياد هيكل من الجيش اللبناني  في حفل قص الشريط لأربع منشآت كبيرة لتخزين الذخائر في قاعدة حامات الجوية، تم تمويلها من مساهمات الحكومة الأميركية. حضر المناسبة السيد دارين كورماك الرئيس التنفيذي للمجموعة الاستشارية للألغام، والتي قدمت لها الولايات المتحدة، منذ العام 2018، أكثر من 2.8 مليون دولار لمشاريع تخزين الذخيرة والتدريب في ثلاثة مرافق تابعة للجيش اللبنانيهذه المشاريع  تحفظ سلامة أفراد الجيش اللبناني والشعب اللبناني من خلال منع إساءة استخدام المواد المتفجرة أو سوء التعامل معها، وهي خطوة هامة نحو هدفنا المشترك المتمثّل في مكافحة انتشار الأسلحة والإرهاب. وفي أثناء وجودها في الموقع، شاركت السفيرة أيضاً في حفل تخريج مدربي وجنود الجيش اللبناني، الذين أكملوا، بتمويل ومتابعة من الجيش الأميركي، دورة تدريبية على وسائل التطبيب في الجو مدتها ثمانية أسابيع. 

وفي كلمتها بالمناسبة قالت السفيرة شيا: “هذه زيارتي الثالثة لقاعدة حامات الجوية.  في الأسبوع الماضي، رحبنا بالجنرال ماكنزي من القيادة المركزية الأميركية، كما أشرفنا، الشهر الماضي، على تسليم مروحيات هيوي 2 الجديدة بقيمة 32 مليون دولار. قائمة المشاركات هذه، هي شهادة على التزامنا وعلى دعم الولايات المتحدة المستمر للجيش اللبناني“.  

وشكرت السفيرة شيا العميد هيكل وفريقه على الشراكة وهنأت شيا المتخرجين قائلة: “نحن فخورون بهذه القدرات وبالطريقة التي ستشاركون بها معارفكم من خلال تجارب تدريب المدربين. إن هذا التدريب يوضح النطاق الواسع لدعمنا للجيش اللبناني.

Ambassador Dorothy C. Shea Inaugurates Munitions Storage Facilities at Hamat Air Base

On March 26, Ambassador Dorothy Shea joined Lebanese Armed Forces (LAF) General Ziad Haikal at Hamat Air Base for a ribbon cutting ceremony for four large munitions storage facilities, which were funded by U.S. government contributions.  The event was also attended by Darren Cormack, CEO of Mines Advisory Group, to which the United States has provided over $2.8 million since 2018 for ammunition storage projects and training at three LAF facilities.  These projects protect the safety of LAF personnel and the Lebanese people by preventing the potential misuse or mishandling of explosive materials, and is one important step toward our shared goal of countering weapons proliferation and terrorism.  While at the site, the Ambassador also presided over a graduation ceremony for LAF trainers and soldiers, who completed an eight-week flight medic training course, funded and monitored by the U.S. military.   

In the ceremony, Ambassador Shea noted: This is my third visit to Hamat Air Base in the last month.  Last week, we welcomed General McKenzie of the U.S. Central Command and last month we oversaw the donation of $32 million in new Huey II aircraft.  This catalog of engagement is a testament to our commitment and ongoing U.S. support for the LAF.

Ambassador Shea thanked General Haikal and his team for their partnershipWhen congratulating the flight medic graduates, she stated: “We are proud of these capabilities and how you will share your knowledge through train-the-trainer experiences.  This training illustrates the broad scope of our support for the LAF.