السفيرة الاميركية تطلق أعمال إنشاءات وتدريبات جديدة في أكاديمية قوى الأمن الداخلي

Launching New Construction Works and Trainings at ISF Academy

اليوم، انضمت السفيرة إليزابيث ريتشارد إلى المدير العام لقوى الأمن الداخلي، اللواء عماد عثمان، ومسؤولين آخرين في قوى الأمن الداخلي، وذلك للإحتفال بوضع حجر الأساس لإطلاق منشآت جديدة في أكاديمية قوى الأمن الداخلي في عرمون. سوف يوفر بناء مبنى جديد للمهاجع والصفوف الدراسية مساكن قصيرة الأجل للمتدربين في قوى الأمن الداخلي من خارج بيروت وكذلك، صفوف إضافية لاستيعاب عملية التدريب ضمن برنامج الاحترافية الموسعة للشرطة (EP2) الذي ترعاه الولايات المتحدة. هذا الاستثمار الإضافي بقيمة 5 ملايين دولار هو دليل آخر على دعم الحكومة الأميركية القوي والمستمر للبنان وقواه الأمنية.

منذ العام 2008 ، قدمت الولايات المتحدة أكثر من 278 مليون دولار لتدريب قوى الأمن الداخلي وتجهيزها من خلال المكتب الدولي لشؤون المخدرات وإنفاذ القانون التابع لوزارة الخارجية.

منذ العام 2007 ، قدمت الولايات المتحدة ما يقارب من 5 مليارات دولار من إجمالي المساعدات إلى لبنان، بما في ذلك أكثر من 1.7 مليار دولار من المساعدات العسكرية وأكثر من 3.1 مليار دولار في مجال التنمية والمساعدات الإنسانية.

فيما يلي كلمة السفيرة ريتشارد بالمناسبة:

شكراً جزيلاً، المدير العام لقوى الأمن الداخلي اللواء عماد عثمان ، العميد حجار، الأصدقاء الأعزاء، والزملاء.

أنا سعيدة جدًا بالعودة إلى هنا في عرمون، وهو المكان الذي تعرفنا عليه جيدًا على مدى أكثر من عشر سنوات خلال عملنا مع قوى الأمن الداخلي حيث  شاهدناكم تتطورون. ونحن نحتفل اليوم بخطوة أخرى في الشراكة بيننا من أجل إضفاء الطابع الاحترافي على خدمات الأمن الداخلي وقواته الموجودة هنا في لبنان.

لدى قوى الأمن الداخلي خطة استراتيجية، وهي خطة ممتازة، وقد قمنا بمراجعتها معكم عن كثب ومع ضباطكم قبل مؤتمر روما. لقد وجدنا أنها خريطة طريق رائعة لما سيليها فيما تقومون ببناء هذه القوى. إنه لشرف لنا أن نكون جزءًا من تلك الخطة الإستراتيجية، واليوم نحن ننظر الى جزء واحد فقط من تلك الخطة. ما نقوم به اليوم هو مساعدتكم على توسيع النجاحات الكبيرة التي شهدناها هنا في بيروت لتشمل البلد بأكمله. وسوف يتمكن أكثر من 7500 عنصر من قوات الدرك والشرطة البلدية من جميع أنحاء البلاد من العيش والعمل والتدريب هنا في آن.

يُعد برنامج الشرطة المتخصّصة المطوّر (EP2) جزءًا كبيرًا من هذا الجهد. وأعتقد، اليوم، أن الذي نفعله بالاضافة الى ما تحدّث به الجنرال حجار، بشأن رأس المال البشري الذي نحاول الوصول إليه، هو البحث في البنية التحتية التي نحتاج إلى تحسينها. وبالنسبة لنا هذه مساهمة ذات معنى في هذا الجهد، لإنشاء هذه البنية التحتية بقيمة 5 ملايين دولار. ستكون هذه المباني منشأة حديثة `ذات غاية تتيح لكم توفير التدريب والتوجيه من الدرجة الأولى. وأعتقد أنكم سوف تكونون، شيئًا فشيئًا، موضع حسد الجميع في هذه المنطقة

هذا التزام تعهّدنا به في روما 2 وأنا سعيدة جدًا بقدرتنا على الوفاء به. وهنا أود أن أقول شيئًا أخيرًا، أنه من السهل جدًا التركيز على المعدات وأعلم أنه من المغري أن نعرف أين توجد الأسلحة  والشاحنات، والمركبات، والطائرات؟ . ولكن الحقيقة هي أن قوات الأمن الحديثة لا تزدهر وتبني نجاحهاً على المعدات. أنما تزدهر وتنجح من خلال رأسمالها البشري. إنها تزدهر وتنجح بناء على القيادة والتدريب، والانضباط، والتفاني. هذا ما يبني قوى أمن المستقبل وهذا ما نقوم بالمساعدة لى بنائه اليوم. من دون التدريب، وتفاني المعلمين والموجهين والمدربين، لن تكون لديكم قوة أمنية بغض النظر عن المعدات.

لذلك فأنا أكثر فخرًا لكوني جزءًا من هذه الجهود. شكراً جزيلاً لكلا الضابطين على قيادتكم ولكل زملائنا الضباط على تفانيهم وآمل أن تدعوني مجددًا لمشاهدة المباني وقد اكتمل بناؤها. شكرا لكم.

Ambassador Richard Launches New Construction Works and Trainings at ISF Academy

Launching New Construction Works and Trainings at ISF Academy

Today, Ambassador Elizabeth Richard joined Internal Security Forces (ISF) Director General Imad Osman, and other ISF officials at the groundbreaking ceremony launching the construction of new facilities at the ISF Academy in Aramoun.  The construction of a new dormitory and classroom buildings will provide short-term housing for the ISF trainees from outside of Beirut and additional classrooms to accommodate training from the U.S. sponsored Expanded Police Professionalism (EP2) program.  This additional $5 million dollar investment is another demonstration of the strong and continuing U.S. government support for Lebanon and the ISF.

Since 2008, the United States has provided over $278 million dollars to train and equip the ISF through the State Department’s Department of State Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs (INL).

Since 2007, the United States has provided nearly $5 billion in total combined assistance to Lebanon, including more than $1.7 billion in military assistance and more than $3.1 billion in development and humanitarian assistance.

Below are Ambassador Richard’s remarks.

Thank you very much, Director General Osman, Brigadier General Hajjar, dear friends, and colleagues.

I am so happy to be back here at Aramoun, a place that we have gotten to know very well, over the more than ten years that we have worked with the ISF and we’ve watched you grow.  Today we are marking another step in the partnership that we have together to professionalize the internal security services and forces here in Lebanon.

The ISF does have a strategic plan and it is an excellent plan, and we reviewed it closely with you and your officers before the Rome conference.  We found it to be a superb roadmap for what comes next as you build the force.  It is our honor to be part of that strategic plan and today we are looking at just one part of that plan.  What we are doing today is helping you expand the great successes we have seen here in Beirut to the entire country.  More than 7500 ISF Gendarmerie and municipal police from around the country will be able to live and work and train here.

The Expanded Police Professional (EP2) Program is a big part of this effort.  And I think today, what we are doing, in not only talking, as General Hajjar did about the human capital that we are trying to reach, but we are looking at the infrastructure that we need to improve.  This is for us a meaningful $5 million contribution to that effort, in creating this infrastructure.  These buildings are going to be a modern, purpose-filled facility that is going to allow you deliver first class training and mentoring.  I think it will be, little by little, the envy of everyone in this region.

This is a commitment we made at Rome II and I’m very happy that we are able to meet that commitment.  I’d like to say one last thing, that it is very easy to focus on equipment and I know it is tempting to want to know, where are the weapons, where are the trucks, where are the vehicles, and where are the airplanes.  But the fact is that modern security forces do not thrive and succeed based on their equipment.  They thrive and succeed based on their human capital.  They thrive and succeed on leadership and training, and discipline, and dedication.  That’s what builds the security force of the future and that is what we are helping to build today.  Without the training, without the dedication of the teachers, the mentors, and the instructors, you do not have a security force no matter what equipment you have.

So I couldn’t be more proud to be part of this today.  Thank you so much to both officers for your leadership and all our fellow officers for their dedication and I very much hope you will invite me back to see the completed buildings.  Thank you.