كلمة السفيرة دوروثي شيا الإعلان عن مساعدة إضافية للبنان للتعامل مع فيروس كورونا المستجدّ

الجامعة الأميركية في بيروت
الأربعاء في 22 نيسان 2020
الكلمة كما تم إعدادها
اتحدّث إليكم اليوم من الجامعة الأميركية في بيروت، أحد شركائنا الرئيسيين منذ أمد بعيد، وأتقدم بشكري الخاص للدكتور فضلو خوري على جهوده التي يقوم بها بلا كلل للشعب اللبناني وبشكل خاص خلال زمن وباء الكورونا.
تلتزم الحكومة الأميركية دعم شعب لبنان وهي تحدث فرقا في حياة الناس عبر مساعدة اللبنانيين في مواجهة هذا الوباء. إننا نقوم بتحويل بعض برامج المساعدة الموجودة لدينا للإستجابة للاحتياجات التي تنشأ على أرض الواقع.
يسعدني أن أعلن اليوم عن مساعدة إضافية للبنان من الحكومة الأميركية بقيمة 13.3 مليون دولار لمكافحة انتشار وباء كورونا. تشمل هذه المساعدة 5.3 مليون دولار في اطار مساعدة دولية في حالات الكوارث عبر الوكالة الأميركية للتنمية الدولية (USAID) لأنشطة المساعدة التي تركّز على أكثر اللبنانيين ضعفاً. هذه المساعدة، ستدعم على وجه التحديد، مرافق الرعاية الصحية الخاصة من أجل إدارة سليمة في رعاية المرضى، وضمان استمرار الخدمات الصحية الأساسية، وتعزيز التواصل والمتابعة الصحيّة والاجتماعيّة. كما انها ستزيد   فرص المجتمعات الضعيفة للوصول إلى المياه، والصرف الصحي، والنظافة الشخصية. كما تشمل هذه المساعدة ايضا مبلغ 8 ملايين دولار، في شكل تمويل، عبر “مفوضية الأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين ” لمساعدة اللاجئين والمجتمعات اللبنانية المضيفة المحتاجة.
هذه المساعدة الجديدة هي مساعدة إضافيّة إلى الدعم الأميركي الحالي ، الذي أعيد تشكيله خلال الشهر الماضي لتخصيص ما يقرب من 12 مليون دولار من أجل تلبية احتياجات لبنان الناشئة عن الوباء. على سبيل المثال، فقد قام مشروع “كتابي” التابع للوكالة الأميركية للتنمية الدولية، منذ بداية شهر آذار 2020 بإعادة تخصيص 10 ملايين دولار لمساعدة أكثر من 50,000 طالب محتاج في جميع أنحاء لبنان في توفير التعلّم عن بعد ودعم بث الدروس المدرسية من خلال الإنترنت، وعلى شاشات التلفزة، وعبر منصات إعلامية أخرى، في حين لا تزال المؤسسات التعليمية مغلقة بسبب أزمة فيروس كورنا. في السنوات العشرين الماضية، قدّمت الولايات المتحدة ما يقرب من 4.9 مليار دولار من المساعدات الثنائية للبنان، بما في ذلك أكثر من 187 مليون دولار من المساعدات الصحيّة. وعلى مدى السنوات العشر الماضية، وضعت الوكالة الأميركية للتنمية الدولية مبلغ 11 مليون دولار لبناء وإعادة تأهيل وتجهيز المرافق الطبية التابعة للجامعة الأميركية في بيروت والجامعة اللبنانية الأميركية. ولعقود مضت، كانت الولايات المتحدة أكبر مموّل في العالم للمساعدات في مجال الصحة العامة.
تعمل الولايات المتحدة على تقديم التمويل والمساعدة لمكافحة وباء كورونا المستجدّ لأنه يتماهى مع قيمنا ومصالحنا. أميركا هي قوة خير، ونحن نريد المساعدة في تحسين حياة الشعب اللبناني. إننا نقف مع شعب لبنان في هذه الأوقات الصعبة. ونحن في هذا معا.

Remarks by Ambassador Dorothy Shea Funding Announcement of New COVID-19 Assistance to Lebanon

American University of Beirut, Beirut
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
AS PREPARED
I am speaking to you today from AUB, one of our key, longstanding partners, and I offer my special thanks to Dr. Fadlo Khouri for his tireless work for the Lebanese people, including during the Coronavirus pandemic.
The U.S. government is committed to supporting the people of Lebanon and is making a difference in people’s lives, helping the Lebanese to confront this pandemic. We have been shifting some of our existing assistance programs to respond to evolving needs on the ground.
Today, I am pleased to announce additional new U.S. government assistance to Lebanon to combat the spread of Coronavirus, in the amount of $13.3 million. This assistance includes $5.3 million in international disaster assistance from the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) for activities to help the most vulnerable Lebanese. Specifically, this assistance will support private health care facilities to properly manage patient care, ensure continuity of essential health services, enhance communication and community outreach. It will also increase access of vulnerable communities to water, sanitation and hygiene. Finally, it includes $8 million in Migration and Refugee Assistance funding for the United Nations Refugee Agency to help refugees and Lebanese host communities in need.
Again, this new assistance is in addition to existing U.S. support, which has been reshaped over the past month to allocate more than $12 million to address Lebanon’s emerging pandemic-related needs. For example, beginning in March 2020, USAID’s QITABI program began reallocating $10 million to assist over 50,000 disadvantaged students across Lebanon by providing distance learning and by broadcasting school lessons online, on television, and via other media platforms while education facilities remain closed due to the Coronavirus crisis. In the last 20 years, the United States has provided nearly $4.9 billion in bilateral assistance to Lebanon, including more than $187 million in health assistance. Over the last 10 years, $11 million of USAID has specifically supported the construction, rehabilitation, and equipping of medical facilities at the American University of Beirut and the Lebanese American University. For decades, the United States has been the world’s largest provider of assistance in public health worldwide.
The United States is providing funding and assistance to combat the Coronavirus pandemic because it is consistent with our values and interests. America is a force for good. We want to help improve the lives of the Lebanese people. We stand with the people of Lebanon in these challenging times. We are in this together.